Follow by Email

Sunday, November 23, 2014

Someone is Watching by Joy Fielding


This was a good mystery read. I wouldn't say that I loved it, because at times the writing was a little lackluster. However, for a quick read with cheap thrills, this one fits the bill. Much of the plot in the beginning was more of the same thing over and over with recurring bad dreams and such. The subject matter is a little rough, as the main character is raped in the very beginning of the book. The story line becomes interesting as she starts to let people back into her world, after she has become extremely reclusive. There are two major twists at the end, one right after another. I had to finish it in order to see who turned out to be her rapist, because she had a feeling it was someone close to her. The author did a great job of building suspense. The surprise ending packs a punch. Not a read for the faint of heart. I gave myself a few nightmares. But it was worth it!

The book will be published March 24, 2015.

Monday, November 17, 2014

Die Again by Tess Gerritsen



I'm a huge fan of Tess Gerritsen and have read all of her novels so far. Die Again is the latest in the Rizzoli & Isles series. This was certainly one of my favorites. I really enjoyed how the story went back and forth between present day Boston and Botswana, Africa 7 years prior, when a group of campers disappeared. Like all of her novels, it is clear that Tess puts in a lot of hours on research to make the setting and back story realistic. In this case, the research on tigers, leopards, and cougars was very helpful to the story line. The suspense and thrills build as the story develops, and it will keep you turning pages until the very end. Great story!

This book will be published on December 30, 2014.

Wednesday, November 12, 2014

Furry Logic by Jane Seabrook - A Great Gift Book




Furry Logic: A Guide to Life's Little Challenges by Jane Seabrook is a hilarious, light-hearted gift book. It would be perfect for someone who loves animals, or for anyone that needs a little daily humor. I plan to keep my copy in my office, in case I need to read something funny from time to time. The quotations are funny, and the animal pictures to correspond with them are adorable. My favorite one (pictured above), which will give you a free sneak peak into the book is a picture of a really crazy bird and it says "I never made Who's Who, but I'm featured in What's That." Another favorite is a picture of a meerkat with a crazy look on his face and it says, "I am NOT tense. Just terribly, terribly alert." I laughed out loud while flipping through the book.

I received this book from Blogging for Books for this review.

Tuesday, November 11, 2014

The Fifth Gospel - Ian Caldwell



Fans of Dan Brown, Steve Berry, or James Rollins? This is the perfect novel for you. The novel is quite long, but it is clear that the author did extensive research of the Vatican, Catholicism, and the Shroud of Turin. The story is fast-paced and full of suspense, religious controversy, and a bit of mystery to keep the reader guessing. For a novel with young single priests as the two main characters, one of which was once married and has a young son, the story is not dry or lacking in flavor. If you would like to borrow it, please let me know. It will be published in March 2015.

Thursday, November 6, 2014

The 13th Gift - A Truly Moving Holiday Story


The 13th Gift is a true story of one family's difficult Holiday season after the untimely and sudden death of their husband/father. The story is interesting, as it includes a bit of mystery which builds as Christmas day approaches. The book had me laughing out loud as well as crying at times. This is a wonderful story for those that love Holiday novels, but also for anyone who has lost a loved one and had a hard time going through the Holiday season without their loved one present. The author writes exactly how she and her children are feeling in the wake of the loss of their husband/father. The Christmas "miracle" the family experiences is really quite moving and humbling. The greatest message is that anyone can be giving and any day can be like Christmas. What a great book!

I received this book from Blogging for Books for this review.


Wednesday, November 5, 2014

Gray Mountain - John Grisham's New Hit

Gray Mountain by John Grisham

Gray Mountain is mostly what I would expect from reading most of John Grisham's previous novels. The main difference is that this is the first novel with a female in the lead character role. And, Samantha, the main character actually is perfect for this story.

Though it is considered a legal thriller, there is not too much legal jargon. The layperson shouldn't be worried about getting lost in all the legalese and not following the story line. The story is very believable, centered around strip coal mining in Appalachia where small town folk with barely a dime are up against huge wealthy coal mining companies denying any benefits the miners and their families should be receiving. This is where the lawyers come in. Samantha, once a well-paid, overworked New York City lawyer that had never been in a courtroom is laid off and moved to rural Virginia to intern at a legal aid clinic. The story picks up and becomes fast paced once she arrives in Virginia. There are a few subtle hints of romance, but nothing mushy. Because we all know the laws and love do not usually mix, right?

It's clear that Grisham researched the topic and the area of Appalachia well, which makes for a great novel. I would highly recommend checking this one out - if you can get your name on what will probably be a long hold list at your local library.